DIY Electric Surfboard Drivetrain

Howdy all,

I’ve bought into the fact that I am going to be building my own electric surfboard rather that buying one at the highly marked up prices that others have asked for it. I have extensive experience with electrical engineering, CAD, fabrication, etc. The only question I really still need to answer is the drive-train for the whole platform and wanted to see if I could get some input for where to start. Once I have determined this I will be chronicling the entire build here and on Youtube, much like Pacificmeister and Max Maker. The goal for the build will be a 25mph (40kph) cruising speed (with a 200 lb/90 kg rider), decent maneuverability from the board, and a 40 minute runtime with a removable battery. In essence, a diy clone of the Onean Carver X with slightly more maneuverability.

As far as a jet design I have seen two basic systems that would seem most plausible at this point. The first is the dual jet design of the Onean Carver X, which seems to use an open jet system much like Pacificmeister’s with decent thrust and could be achieved by what seems like twin Scorpion HK-5035. The other seems to be based more on a hamilton jet drive much like a jetski, but would require a much bigger motor much like the HK-7455.

So the question is, which seems to be a better system to base the board on? Or could I do something of a hybrid with dual hamilton jet drives? My guess would be no to that question because it might mess with the fluid dynamics having two systems trying to draw up like that. Cost will be a factor in the build so any alternative motors would be greatly appreciated as well, as that could greatly help determine what the best build would be.

Once this has all been hashed out I will start the project and hopefully have some good CAD models and videos for you all to sink your teeth into.

Thanks,
Jay